Plastic Plastic Everywhere

One of my dogs ate this

One of my dogs ate this

My German Shepherd Milly had a sore-looking split in her nose all last winter. Its fine now, but on looking up on the internet why this might be and what I could do this winter, it led me down a different track (I’m sure her dry nose is because her preferred place last winter was to lie is beside a radiator).

To quote petful.com: ‘One of the biggest causes of dry nose in dogs is a problem with plastic, such as in food and water bowls. Nearly half of dogs are said to have some form of allergic reaction to plastic. Most people who are dealing
with this problem simply eliminate plastics from the dog’s environment. Your dog should eat out of stainless steel or ceramic bowls; these eliminate potential allergy problems ……..’

Eliminate plastics from the dog’s environment? Seriously? Plastic is everywhere I look.

The probdownloadlem is BPA and Pthalates.

I already abandoned plastic for stainless steel with three of the food bowls for my four dogs along with their water bucket when I first heard plastic may not be good. But I have an ‘anti-gulping bowl’ for my greedy Labrador which is apparently made of melamine: Chemical formula‎: ‎C3H6N6  

Oh, yes?

melanine bowls

Melanine dog bowls

I quote from Dogington Post: According to Discovery News, Phil Smith and Kimberly Wooten of Texas Tech University co-authored the study. Phil Smith, who raises, trains, and hunts with his Labrador Retrievers, was especially concerned with the fetching batons, or “bumpers,” that are commonly, and heavily, used during training, and plastic and rubber toys that many dogs play with every day, including chew-bones that are given to dogs as a supposed safe alternative to chewing real bones and foreign objects during teething.

This following statement is very worrying to me: “We found that the aging or weathering the toys increased concentrations of BPA and phthalates,” Smith explained. “The toys had lower concentrations of phthalates than the bumpers, so that’s good news. But they also had some other chemicals that mimicked estrogen. We need to find out what those are.”

I must have old toys outside in a tub the garden that go back to the days of Merlin, my Rottie, fifteen years ago. There is still his plastic fetch-baton hanging about, chewed smaller by three generations of my dogs. My little cocker Pickle will chew anything plastic he can find. Yesterday it was a pen I dropped.

I haven’t started to look at the harm these chemicals actually do apart from causing allergies but guess they are cancer-causing.

Here is a list of toys, thanks to allnaturalpetcare.com that don’t contain BPA and Pthalates. I suspect only a couple are readily available in the UK and these are Nylabone and Kong. Nylabones?

At least with good old Kongs we are safe – or should be. They are 100% rubber. (I hope nobody is now going to tell me that rubber is toxic to dogs in certain circumstances).

About Theo Stewart

I am a dog Behaviourist (INTODogs-ABTC - AAB) and trainer covering Beds, Herts, Cambs and Bucks, a 'Victoria Stilwell' Positively Dog Trainer (VSPDT) and a member of the IMDT. Graduate ISCP, International School for Canine Practitioners. My main site: www.dogidog.co.uk
This entry was posted in Science & Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

